Tags

, , , , ,

13101308_1212976298715314_351233931_n

Despite the huge range of breakfast cereals available these days in the supermarket, I sometimes feel that although it is the most important meal of the day, breakfast can be a little samey.

A few days ago I decided to inject a little bit of excitement into it. As I trawled through the internet looking for inspiration, I came across a lovely recipe for healthy breakfast muffins – PERFECT.

They were so simple to make and tasted absolutely delicious, particularly served with thick Greek yoghurt. Because I didn’t have all the ingredients to hand (and I must admit some of them are quite expensive), I modified the recipe slightly, using self raising flour, demerara sugar and an egg.  The result was still a very yummy alternative to breakfast cereal.

Lemon & Poppyseed Breakfast Muffins (Makes 8)

2 mug flour

2 tbsp sugar

1/2 mug oat milk

3 tbsp poppy seeds

2 tbsp apple sauce

2 tbsp lemon zest

2 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

Salt

Pre-heat oven to 160 degrees celsius. Mix all ingredients together well in a bowl and divide between 8 cases or a muffin tin. Bake in the oven for 35 mins but do not open the door at any time! Remove and allow to cool. Store in a container for up to 2 days.

